Vegan wine green icon logo denoting wines that are suitable for vegans and/or vegetarian.

Vegan Wine

Vegan wine, or wine suitable for vegans, is wine where the finings used in the production process are not animal based or the process used is simply to allow the wines to settle and stabilise. Typically, animal additives used in fining and filtering phases of winemaking include isinglass (dried swim bladders of fish), albumin (egg whites) and casein (milk protein) - in wine suitable for vegans, bentonite clay, limestone or plant protein, can be used for this process instead.